Slab with Holes

Discussion and updates on Curvy 3D Beta development.
Post Reply
Simon
C.E.O.
Posts: 2306
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.
Contact:

Slab with Holes

Post by Simon »

Curvy 3.0 Slabs extruded a single curve to make an object. In 4.0 you can use multiple curves to cut out holes in the shape - effectively making some high quality meshes very simply (and still editable live as before)

Image

In this case the Curves were imported from Inkscape as SVG, but you can sketch Slabs with holes directly in Curvy too.

Image
Simon
C.E.O.
Posts: 2306
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.
Contact:

Re: Slab with Holes

Post by Simon »

Another simpler example: This time Macaroni curves draw directly in Curvy.

Image

And the Curves...

Image
Funken
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: Slab with Holes

Post by Funken »

Hello Simon, a question regarding the upcoming SVG functionality: will it be possible to drag & drop or to copy/paste a SVG curve from an illustration program (let's say Inkscape) to Curvy 3D? Loading from a file through the menu would be ok, too, but also a bit cumbersome.
Simon
C.E.O.
Posts: 2306
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.
Contact:

Re: Slab with Holes

Post by Simon »

I hope so. I love using drag & drop to place layers into Gimp. So much easier if you keep the folders open rather than having to dig through a file popup.

I just need to google how to do it :) And then any file should be able to be dropped into the right place, OBJ, SVG, Textures, all just drop into place.
franklejp
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:59 pm

Re: Slab with Holes

Post by franklejp »

Will you be able to select more than one disconnected curve (closed or open) to use with the same slab modifier?
Or will you just do one curve and then the other?
Simon
C.E.O.
Posts: 2306
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.
Contact:

Re: Slab with Holes

Post by Simon »

At the momennt you would just start another slab with a disconnected curve to make a separate shape. I've just not quite got round to doing the code for multiple shapes in a single slab - I've researched it, but not coded it yet.
Post Reply