Curvy 3d New User

Discuss Curvy 3D - Ask questions and share ideas.

Curvy 3d New User

Postby Trekiej » Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:12 am

Hi, my name is Rick and I downloaded Curvy today. I am liking the program but wanted to ask a question.
I am comming Blender3D and have sculpted on it.
When I do a sub-surface and get more polygons my system slow to a crawl. The question is, will Curvy3D have the same problem?
Thanks.
Trekiej
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:00 am

Postby Simon » Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:50 am

You do have to be aware of the number of polygons in a model. Curvy works well with models up to about 100,000 polygons - and can display several such models at once. However if you made a single model with 500,000 to a million polygons and tried using the surface sculpting tools it will be slow to use.

Most of the models you see in the gallery were made with less than 100,000 polygons per object, so that should give you an idea of what is possible with Curvy.
Simon
C.E.O.
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.

Postby Trekiej » Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:31 pm

Thanks for the reply.
If I were to go higher, do I need to get a video card with more ram.
For example I have been looking at ATI and Nvidia cards that have 2 GigaBytes of ram.
In some ways I guess more is better. I am not now running an AMD cpu with 4 cores. Unfortunately, I have only 2 GB of system ram.


Looks like doing models in pieces seems to be a saving. I am not for sure as to how that will be understood.
It is going to be a while before I get a hang of this app.

I hope in the future to be able to make real clay models and put them into the computer with this software or make clay models from this software.

Thanks again and have a great day.
Rick.
Trekiej
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:00 am

Postby Simon » Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:03 am

I wouldn't worry about the graphics card - the limit is more likely down to the raw computer speed and memory. But it is usually better to just use a few less polygons if things get slow... I have had scenes with 10 million polies (in separate objects of less than 100,000) and not had problems.

I love clay sculpting, but find it more convenient to sculpt on the computer these days. I would be interested to see any curvy/clay models you make from this :)
Simon
C.E.O.
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.

Postby Trekiej » Wed Oct 20, 2010 3:47 am

I need 2GB more of ram and the Phenom got unlocked to a 4 core.
Me and the free version are not getting along.
Maybe the commercial version is better.
Trekiej
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:00 am

Postby Simon » Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:45 pm

The free and paid for versions have the same 3D capability. I do recommend a decent 3D graphics card - but most computers seems to have them as standard these days.

Are you making very high poly models? (The resolution number in Object Properties should not go above 100,000 for normal models).
Simon
C.E.O.
 
Posts: 1982
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.

Postby Trekiej » Thu Dec 02, 2010 7:04 pm

I need more memory and want to add a better video card.
I need to look at my results to see what I need.
Trekiej
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:00 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron