Editable Proxies

Discussion and updates on Curvy 3D Beta development.

Editable Proxies

Postby Simon » Thu May 23, 2013 2:24 pm

You can now make linked copies of an object called Proxies (or Instances)

You can change their material style and position/rotation/scale, while their underlying mesh is shared between all the copies - so changes to one shape effect all the copies.

Proxies also save a lot of memory and save file size.

See below - the only difference between top and bottom is a few edits to a single object's curve.

Image
Simon
C.E.O.
 
Posts: 1691
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.

Postby Markku » Thu May 23, 2013 3:42 pm

Can they be converted actual copies? For export, at least? Would be super useful. :D
Markku
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Finland

Postby Simon » Thu May 23, 2013 4:13 pm

Yes, you can turn them into separate unique objects, and they will export as normal meshes.
Simon
C.E.O.
 
Posts: 1691
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.

Postby Mr.Nemo » Thu May 23, 2013 4:19 pm

This sounds fantastic. I do have a question. Could we take the instances and convert them into objects with editable curves? Say you make a lathe, instance it, make changes to parent, extract the instance, then modify the instance as it's own object. Hard to explain.
C is missing : Scream's pain of Clicking dost my Keyboard a Thinkin'. I need a new Laptop.
Mr.Nemo
Board Chairman
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:28 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Postby Simon » Thu May 23, 2013 6:37 pm

Yes, if you didn't know you were using proxies it would just look like several Lathes. And if you "separate" one it works like a normal lathe still.
Simon
C.E.O.
 
Posts: 1691
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.

Postby Mr.Nemo » Thu May 23, 2013 7:51 pm

Sweet. This works as a great work around for arrays and the like.
C is missing : Scream's pain of Clicking dost my Keyboard a Thinkin'. I need a new Laptop.
Mr.Nemo
Board Chairman
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:28 pm
Location: Denver, CO

How?

Postby drawsattention » Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:57 pm

How do we create proxies? I have tried copy and paste but obviously that is not it. Still learning here. Just discovered we have transparency by using fog the other day so any and all tips are welcome. Thanks!
drawsattention
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:34 pm

Still not understanding this

Postby drawsattention » Tue Aug 27, 2013 2:07 pm

Can you please explain proxies and extracting instances? I think I understand that we are making copies without all the lines? How? Thanks!
drawsattention
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:34 pm

Still not understanding this

Postby drawsattention » Tue Aug 27, 2013 2:12 pm

Can you please explain proxies and extracting instances? I think I understand that we are making copies without all the lines? How? Thanks!
drawsattention
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:34 pm

Postby Simon » Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:05 pm

Proxies is still in progress and not enabled in the current build.

As it turns out there are lots of subtle complexities making proxies work smoothly with the existing tools. I've been thinking this through and do aim to get them working eventually.
Simon
C.E.O.
 
Posts: 1691
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.

Postby drawsattention » Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:30 am

Oh! That explains it! Looking forward to that. :)
drawsattention
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:34 pm

Postby sculptor » Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:04 pm

i think proxies are a nice idea but given the difficulty and complexity of making them work well
i doubt if they are really worth the effort. I know in bryce they are a major cause of crashes for me and end up being quite difficult to use. In a gaming world they are indispensable but i'm not so sure in curvy.
only my personal opinion of course. :)
User avatar
sculptor
 
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:52 am
Location: uk

Postby Simon » Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:38 pm

I can think of a couple of cases where proxies would be really handy, in particular if the proxy is mirrored to the opposite side of a model. But yes they do seem like an extra layer of complexity. If I can't come up with a clean reliable solution now, they might go back on the wish list for another day.
Simon
C.E.O.
 
Posts: 1691
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Kingston Upon Thames, U.K.


Return to Curvy 3D 3.0 Features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron