How To Make Trees Using Curvy 3D 2.0

Discussion and updates on Curvy 3D Beta development.
Demona

How To Make Trees Using Curvy 3D 2.0

Post by Demona »

Hello,

Would someone give me some help here? I'm new to curvy and have only a basic idea of the shapes and edit menus. I've been trying to sculpt a tree trunk with a few limbs and roots. My hope is to be able it create it using only one object. I've started out using either the lathe and the line tool. Then stretching it in various directions by trial and error. The results have not been too bad. (See pic below) but because of all the stretching the textures will end up also stretched in those areas. Then lines in the background of the pic are there because I'm showing it in a sculpty preview program.

Thanks,
Demona

Demona

Post by Demona »

I suppose I'm partially answering my own question (wouldn't be the first time LOL) . After playing with the 'alt/right mouse' buttons, I'm getting some interesting effects here. also shift/r-mouse and control/right mouse...very neat!
sculptor

Post by sculptor »

in curvy you could use lots of objects
a lathe for the trunk
and lines for branches
then do a merge on them to produce a single object
should be able to make very good trees :)

edit:
there are plenty of tips in the tutorial section and across the forum
have fun
Demona

Post by Demona »

Hello Again,

This is for Second Life Sculpties. Here is what I tried for:
When I merged objects and exported, this is what I got:
I seem to remember while learning sculpties in Second Life, that a Second Life sculpt must have exactly 1024 vertices. No more or no less. In other words, you cannot subtract or add from the topography of the sculpt.
So far I have not been able to find a program that is able to work around that. Correct me if I'm on the wrong path here.

Thanks,
Demona
Simon
C.E.O.

Post by Simon »